DariusSolluman/Willpower

From Exalted - Unofficial Wiki

Jump to: navigation, search
Meditation on the Glory of the Sun
Cost: None
Duration: Permanent 
Type: Special 
Min. Willpower: 5 
Min. Essence: 1 
Prereqs: None 

All of the Chosen of the Unconquored Sun are driven, passionite people. But those who master the Meditations unlock greater depths of fortitude that are available to most other Exalted. Each day, when the Exalt is making their Conviction check to regain temporary Willpower, they gain a number of bonus successes equal to the number of times they've taken the Meditation on the Glory of the Sun. A character can only take Meditation on the Glory of the Sun once for every two points of Permanent Willpower they have.

Chosen of the Unconquored Sun
Cost: 1 Willpower, 3 motes / die
Duration: Instant
Type: Supplimental
Min. Willpower: 5
Min. Essence: 1
Prereqs: None

The Solar Exalted are superhuman, in a very literal sense of the term. They can do impossibly well at almost any thing anyone can do. Even if they have very little talent at the actual task at hand, they almost never fail, if they don't want to. The Chosen of the Unconquored Sun is a dice adder which can be applied to any Ability, and counts against the normal limit of such supplemental dice. They may add either up to their Permanent Willpower or their Attribute+Ability in dice, whichever is lower.

Stubborn Mule Method
Cost: 1 mote
Duration: Instant
Type: Reflexive
Min. Willpower: 6
Min. Essence: 2
Prereqs: Chosen of the Unconquored Sun

A Solar Exalt that has set his mind to a task can be exceptionally hard to sway in the matter. A contested attempt at persuading them against their will has an additional difficulty equal to the Exalt's Permanent Essence. Stubborn Mule Method has no effect on purely magical attempts at persuading the Exalt.

Immovable Object Method
Cost: 1 mote / die
Duration: Instant
Type: Reflexive
Min. Willpower: 7
Min. Essence: 2
Prereqs: Stubborn Mule Method

Solars are their own mind and being, and no force in Creation can change them if they do not want to be changed. They may add up to double their Willpower in dice to any roll which uses Willpower at a cost of 1 mote per die when using the Willpower in an opposed roll or resisting someone with their Willpower.

Set in Stone Style
Cost: 1 Willpower, 3 motes
Duration: Instant
Type: Reflexive
Min. Willpower: 8
Min. Essence: 3
Prereqs: Immovable Object Method

Against the might of a Solar's determination, other powers contend in vain. They are the commanders, and are not to be commanded. Even the might of others dissolves into nothing against this simple fact. The Exalt is totally immune to any attempt, magical or mundane, to force them to do or say something. This is a Perfect effect.

Taste of Victory
Cost: 1 Willpower
Duration: Instant
Type: Reflexive
Min. Willpower: 6
Min. Essence: 2
Prereqs: Chosen of the Unconquored Sun

Glory and honor are the due of the Solar Exalted, and it is a taste many grow accustomed to. While the Zeniths are the experts at finding refreshment even in pain and sorrow, it is natural that any Exalt can draw strength from victory. If the Exalt has just won in a contested roll, they may activate the Taste of Victory. They regain a number of motes of Essence equal to the degree of victory.

Virtue Channeling Technique
Cost: 1 Willpower, 2 essence
Duration: Instant
Type: Supplemental
Min. Willpower: 7
Min. Essence: 2
Prereqs: Taste of Victory

It is known the the valorous will find a hidden strength when they fight. It is known that the compassionate will never surrender when standing for a cause they love. It is known that those with conviction will move Heaven and Earth to see their driving need met. But there are limits to even the mightest soul. Save for those who have mastered this Charm- they may channel a virtue for additional dice without it counting as one of their limited number of channeling times. (An Exalt who uses this Charm may not also spend a Willpower for an automatic success, nor may they channel a virtue normally in additional to using the Virtue Channeling Technique).

Overcoming Impossibility Attitude
Cost: 1 Willpower, 4 essence
Duration: Instant
Type: Supplemental
Min. Willpower: 7
Min. Essence: 2
Prereqs: Taste of Victory

Those with the heart to risk everything for what they must have find that fate often does favor the bold. The Solar Exalted once played that game with the Primordials, and some say it was their very daring and cunning that delivered victory to their hands against their dire foes. Although costly, this Charm grants 2 automatic successes to any action the Exalt takes. (An Exalt who uses this Charm may not also spend a Willpower for an automatic success, nor may they channel a virtue normally in additional to using the Overcoming Impossibility Attitude).

Purity of Heart
Cost: None
Duration: Permanent
Type: Special
Min. Willpower: 8
Min. Essence: 3
Prereqs: Virtue Channeling Technique, Overcoming Impossibility Attitude

All Exalted are heroes- motivated by noble cause to noble deeds. Those who have mastered the Purity of Heart, however, can surpass even these limits. They can both channel a Virtue and spend a Willpower in the same round- or channel two Virtues (or the same Virtue twice), or gain two successes. Using Purity of Heart does not count as a Charm. Virtue Channeling Technique or Overcoming Impossibility Attitude supercedes the Purity of Heart for the number of Willpower related expenditures in a turn.

Glorious Golden Drive
Cost: 1 Willpower, 6 motes
Duration: Instant
Type: Reflexive
Min. Willpower: 10
Min. Essence: 3
Prereqs: Purity of Heart

Taking what they have already mastered, some Exalted learn to most closely harness their inner drives. They may focus with such inhuman belief and will as to be likened to a god or elemental caught in a passion. The Exalt may channel a Virtue with the Glorious Golden Drive and gain a number of automatic successes equal to the number of dice. This does count against the Exalt's limited number of times they can channel the Virtue. Using Glorious Golden Drive does not override Purity of Heart.

Soul Devours Body
Cost: All Remaining Health Levels, 1 Willpower per Turn.
Duration: Special
Type: Simple
Min. Willpower: 10
Min. Essence: 4
Prereqs: Purity of Heart

Some dreams are worth the sacrafices. Some hopes will not die. Sometimes, victory is only found in defeat. A Solar who undersatnds the Soul Devours Body knows this better than anyone. At any time, they can choose to die. They spend all of their Health and as much Willpower as they have left. A brilliant golden light begins to pour forth from them, as though the sun had just ignited inside of them. They have, for a number of turns equal to the amount of Willpower they spent activating the charm, an unlimited amount of Willpower and Periphereal Essence. The restrictions on Charm use per turn are greatly relaxed- if the Solar could have created a combo from the Charms, he has access to them. Further, they are incapable of taking damage- this is a Perfect Effect. At the end of their alloted time, however, the solar fire gutters and dies within them. The Exalt pauses for a moment, and then crumples, dead.


Comments

Nice idea, and I like some of the ones you've got here -- the 'generic' diceadder is a bit overdone, IMHO, and I don't think having many charms with a Willpower requirement less than 5 or so is all that necessary. No Exalt is going to have a Willpower that low, or indeed /can/. Also, I'd have expected a basic Willpower adder -- 1 mote per die, letting the Solar do very well on willpower rolls to resist charms and stuff. It'd be useful and be potentially cool. Soul Devours Body is awesome; maybe let the Solar use any charms he wants without combos, too?? -CrownedSun


Is the generic diceadder overdone in a 'not useful enough' or 'too damn useful' way? It's meant to cover all those times that an Exalt is doing something and doesn't have the existant diceadder for it.

Maybe replace Stubborn Mule Style with the Willpower diceadder.

Also, good call on Minimum Willpower and Soul Devours Body giving free combos- as long as the Charms could have been in a combo previously, they can be used as if in a combo now. (Charms editted) -DariusSolluman


I meant 'too useful', personally, but it's a taste thing. I like dice-adders, but not a generi-diceadder so much. -CrownedSun


Some of these Charms have 'essence' costs. Are these dots of Permanent Essence?! or are they motes, or what? As it stands, in the first case, they look dramatically overcosted, and in the second I would think that Virtue Channelling is too expensive and Overcoming impossibility Attitude too cheap. - FourWillowsWeeping


Gah! Nono, the cost was supposed to be in motes. Stupid brain. (Corrected) How would you cost out Virtue Channeling and Overcoming Impossibility? -DariusSolluman


I'm guessing Virtue channeling means you spend 1 WP and 4 ess to get the channel without marking off a box under the virute, or you can just channel it normally by spending 1 WP. If that's the case then I think the 4 mote additional cost to be about right. Overcoming impossibility I think should also be 1 WP, 4 motes though as you are basically getting 2 successes for 1 WP instead of 1. 2 motes is hardly even worth noting, at least 4 gives it the feel of having a cost... - CorlanDashiva


Welll... it seems that I had a misinterpretation of Overcoming Impossibility (I interpreted it as "you succeed at X task" rather than "you get 2 successes at X task"... it was late at night. Nonetheless, this is a strong enough effect that I'd be willing to cost it at 3 or 4 motes. I'd lower the cost of Virtue Channelling to 2 motes and the WP, because in my game, I'd do everything I can to encourage players to use their Virtues. I also encourage you to devise a Charm that increases the straight utility of Virtue channelling - maybe allowing you to throw autosuccesses with Virtue dice. - FourWillowsWeeping


Kay. I've done some general cost revision, added the Willpower dice adder (Immovable Object Method) and Virtue Autosuccess adder (Glorious Golden Drive). Enjoy :) - DariusSolluman


Nice, but I'd make the Wp adder 1 mote per die, as it is a fairly funky power... Other than that I like it :-) - CorlanDashiva

I thought about it, but most defensive dice adders (which is what the Immovable Object Method is) are one mote per two dice. - DariusSolluman

I'm just thinking about things like Demon summoning. Is that an opposed willpower rule? If so, it might be worth specifying that Immovable object works only to defend you, rather than making you great at imposing your will on others. By the way, I love the idea of this style, and will probably be pinching most if not all of the charms :p - CorlanDashiva

Heh! Well, good point. I'd utterly forgotten about the binding Willpower roll- which sure is an offensive use of Willpower. Cost adjusted. Although you couldn't actually use the Immovable Object Method when you're casting using one of the Summoning spells. After all, ya can't use two Charms in the same turn, ya can't combo IOM with the Sorcerery Charms... I'll leave the price adjusted, until I can verify there aren't other circumstnaces Willpower is used offensively that you could combine with IOM. - DariusSolluman

Or you could just say that it can only be used defensively (and specifically not for things which you initiate like demon fighting)... You have a good point about defensive dice adders being 2 for 1 though... - CorlanDashiva

Bah. You and your sense. (Change made ;) - DariusSolluman

You sure can use it during summoning. Firing up the spell only takes a round or two, but the actual summoning takes hours, so there would be no need for a Combo. \\ _Ikselam

I was under the impression that spells with a ritual associated with them are being 'cast' for the entire ritual, and so count as the Charm being used that whole time... -DariusSolluman

The motes stay committed for the whole ritual, and you obviously won't be doing stuff like dueling your wicked half-brother while doing the Bone Lion ritual, but it seems perfectly reasonable to think that you could activate reflexives without screwing things up. I suppose it would be a call the ST would have to make.\\ _Ikselam

I can see reasons for both arguments, but I think I'd personally say that in my games you cannot use charms without disrupting the ritual. Otherwise, sorcery has no serious risks associated with it. If you cannot use charms for defense you must rely on allies or minions to protect you, which is much more how I see my diabolical demon summoners... Of course, as I say I can see why you'd do it the other way (YMMV in other words...) - CorlanDashiva

Per pp. 216-7 of the core rules, using Charms while enacting Sorcery is impossible--you can set up scene-length Charms beforehand, but you can't activate anything except your anima power while shaping the spell. --MetalFatigue

An ASCII-art tree of these charms live here, for some reason. -- Wordman

Personal tools